This Floating World

This Floating World

“This Floating World” is a collection of five musical illustrations of the following Haiku by Basho as translated by Robert Hass. I often use extra-musical material as a means of generating structure and color in my music. The idea of using these elegant images as a jumping-off point was very appealing to me.

attached to nothing,
the skylark singing.

Harvest moon—
the tide rises
almost to my door.

Winter solitude
in a world of one color,
the sound of wind

A petal shower
of mountain roses,
and the sound of the rapids.

A wild sea –
and flowing out toward Sado Island,
the Milky Way.

For Linda Chatterton

Type:  Solo Instrumental

Voicing or Instrumentation:  Solo flute


This Floating World – PDF Download
This Floating World – Printed Score
SKU: HP01-07 Categories: , Tags: ,

Audio Credits: Diverse Voices – American Music for Flute, Linda Chatterton, flute and John Jensen, Piano2008 Linda Chatterton

Year Composed: 2004

Duration: 09:00

Listen while you peruse the score

  1. This Floating World: I. Skylark
  2. This Floating World: II. Harvest Moon and Tide
  3. This Floating World: III. Winter Solitude
  4. This Floating World: IV. Petal Shower
  5. This Floating World: V. A Wild Sea

Perusal Score Floating World

Additional information

Choose Format

PDF Download, Printed Score

Pin It on Pinterest

Share This