Commissioned by Ann DuHamel with funds provided by University of Minnesota Imagine Fund Award.

Rückblick, takes its inspiration from two pieces of Brahms. The first is the Intermezzo Op. 119, No. 1, nicknamed “The Gray Pearl” by Clara Schumann. This piece is among the last pieces Brahms wrote. The second is the 4th movement of Brahms’s Piano Sonata No. 3, Op. 5 (a much earlier work). This movement is also an Intermezzo; subtitled “Rückblick,” which literally translates to “backward glance.” In these four movements, I explore ideas of looking forward, backward and being in the here and now in time by borrowing from these two “book-end” works from Brahms’s oeuvre.

Type: Solo Instrumental
Voicing or Instrumentation: Solo Piano


Rückblick – Downloadable PDF
Rückblick – Printed Score
SKU: HP01-10 Categories: , Tags: ,

Audio Credits: Ann DuHamel, piano
Year Composed: 2018
Duration: 12:30

  1. Rückblick I. A Look Ahead
  2. Rückblick II. Memento After Clara's Gray Pearl
  3. Rückblick III. Here, Now
  4. Rückblick IV. A Backward Glance

Ruckblick Perusal Score June 2019

Additional information

Choose format

Downloadable PDF, Printed Score

Pin It on Pinterest

Share This